🔍 Read the full analysis: Retell Taps OpenAI Models For 100M Monthly Calls on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement does not specify when the volume was measured, how a call is counted, or which models are involved, so the figure cannot be used to assess growth or service performance.
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models, a reported usage figure that signals the service operates at substantial volume. The announcement does not say when the count was measured, how Retell defines a call, or which OpenAI models are used.
The company’s announcement connects Retell’s voice AI service with OpenAI models and reports a monthly total of 100 million calls. It does not explain whether the total includes completed conversations, attempts to connect, repeated calls, or another measure of platform activity. The number is therefore best treated as Retell’s reported volume, not a standardized performance measure.
The available details also do not identify the specific OpenAI models, describe what tasks they perform during calls, or state what share of Retell’s reported volume uses them. No customer list, use-case breakdown, or earlier monthly figure is provided. The announcement does not report call accuracy, completion rates, latency, pricing, or customer outcomes.
Because no earlier figure or comparison period is supplied, the 100 million calls cannot establish a growth rate. Nor does the count show how many distinct callers use the service or whether the calls produced successful outcomes. Those distinctions matter when comparing usage claims across voice AI providers.
What 100 Million Calls Can Show
The reported total offers a signal of the operational scale Retell claims for its voice AI platform. For organizations evaluating automated phone services, it may indicate that the company is handling activity at a large monthly volume. It also draws attention to the role of model providers such as OpenAI in services built around spoken interactions.
But volume alone does not establish service quality or business impact. A call count does not reveal how many conversations were completed, whether users received useful responses, or whether automation lowered costs or improved customer service. Without a clear counting method and outcome data, readers cannot make a like-for-like comparison with other services or infer that the figure represents 100 million successful conversations.
The announcement’s limited detail also leaves the relationship between Retell and OpenAI difficult to evaluate. Saying models help power the platform confirms a stated connection, but not the models’ specific functions, the extent of their use, or how the service is implemented. Those details would help buyers understand what the reported scale means for the product they may use.
Products Worth Considering

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Sonos Era 100 SL Compact Microphone-Free Speaker, Black
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Retell’s OpenAI-Powered Voice Service
Retell provides a voice AI platform, and the announcement says OpenAI models help power it. Voice AI services can use software to take part in spoken phone interactions, but the announcement does not detail Retell’s technical setup. It does not say which portions of a call rely on OpenAI models or whether other systems also handle parts of the interaction.
The distinction between a monthly activity total and a performance measure is central to interpreting the claim. The reported number is a call volume, not a count of unique users, revenue, completed tasks, or successful customer interactions. Since the company supplied no previous baseline, the figure describes a reported scale at one unspecified point rather than a documented trend.
“The voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models.”
— Retell, in its announcement
How Retell Counts Each Call
Several details needed to interpret the figure remain undisclosed. Retell has not specified the measurement period or whether a call means an attempt, a connected call, or a completed conversation. It is also unclear whether the total includes inbound and outbound calls, repeat attempts, or activity across particular customer groups.
The announcement does not name the OpenAI models, explain their roles, or state what proportion of calls involve them. It also supplies no independent verification or data on accuracy, latency, completion, cost, or customer results. Without those details, the claim cannot establish the effectiveness of the service or support a direct comparison with competitors.
Details Needed to Assess Scale
Further information from Retell could clarify the date range, call-counting rules, and whether the monthly total covers attempts or completed interactions. A breakdown of the OpenAI models and their roles, along with the share of calls that use them, would give customers a clearer view of how the service works.
Retell has not announced a next milestone or a timeline for additional disclosures. Until more detail is available, the figure should be read as a company-reported monthly volume, not a verified measure of call success, growth, or customer impact.
Key Questions
What did Retell announce?
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models.
Which OpenAI models does Retell use?
The announcement does not identify the specific models or describe the tasks they perform during calls.
How does Retell count a call?
The counting method is not specified. It remains unclear whether the figure includes attempted calls, completed calls, or another measure of activity.
Does the figure show that Retell is growing?
No earlier figure or comparison period is provided. The 100 million monthly calls claim cannot establish a growth rate.
Does the number show how well the service performs?
No. The announcement provides no data on call completion, accuracy, latency, or customer outcomes, so the volume alone does not measure performance.
Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com
