The best iPads for drawing pair responsive Apple Pencil support with a screen and storage capacity that fit your art workflow. My best overall pick is the iPad Pro 12.9-inch (5th Generation, 2021), whose newer hardware and large display make it a stronger long-term choice than the older 2017 Pro models. The iPad Air 11-inch (M4) is a compelling newer option, while the iPad 11-inch with A16 offers a simpler route into drawing when paired with Apple Pencil (USB-C). The main tradeoffs are screen size, Pencil compatibility, device age, and whether you want a full iPad or a standalone drawing tablet. Read on for the full breakdown and advice on matching a pick to your art habits.
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The 2021 12.9-inch iPad Pro is the strongest all-around choice in this lineup: it combines a spacious canvas with newer hardware than the 2017 and 2018 Pro options.
- The M4 iPad Air and A16 iPad are different kinds of newer picks: the Air is the more capable step-up, while the A16 models keep the drawing setup simpler.
- The 2017 iPad Pro models trade age for large screens and storage choices; they may suit budget-minded buyers, but software support, battery condition, and renewed-device condition deserve close attention.
- Apple Pencil compatibility should be checked before choosing by screen size alone, especially when comparing older Pro models with newer iPads.
- The PicassoTab A10 and Frunsi RubensTab T11 Pro are standalone alternatives, but buyers should compare their drawing-app options and stylus experience with the broader iPad ecosystem.
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2nd Generation, 2017), 64GB, Wi-Fi, Gold (Renewed) | ![]() | Best for a Large Drawing Canvas | Display: 12.9-inch LED-backlit Retina Multi-Touch | Resolution: 2732 × 2048 pixels, 264 ppi | Processor: Apple A10X Fusion six-core with embedded M10 coprocessor | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad 11-inch (A16 chip, 128GB, Wi‑Fi 6, 12MP Front/Back Camera, Touch ID, All‑Day Battery) – Blue with Apple Pencil (USB‑C) | ![]() | Best for a Ready-to-Draw Setup | Display: 11-inch Liquid Retina with True Tone | Processor: A16 chip | Storage: 128GB; maximum storage option listed as 512GB | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad Pro 10.5-inch (2017), 256GB, Wi-Fi, Space Gray (Renewed) | ![]() | Best Compact Renewed Pro | Display: 10.5-inch LED-backlit Multi-Touch Retina | Resolution: 2224 × 1668 pixels at 264 ppi | Processor: Apple A10X Fusion, 64-bit, with embedded M10 coprocessor | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2017), 512GB, Wi‑Fi, Space Gray | ![]() | Best for a Large Project Library | Display: 12.9-inch Retina, 2732 × 2048, 264 ppi, 120Hz, True Tone | Processor: Apple A10X, 2.39 GHz | Memory: 4GB RAM | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| PicassoTab A10 10-Inch Standalone Drawing Tablet | ![]() | Best Beginner Standalone Drawing Tablet | Display: 10-inch laminated LCD | Resolution: 2000 × 1200 | Operating system: Android 14 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2017), 64GB, Wi-Fi, Space Gray (Renewed) | ![]() | Best Large-Screen Legacy Pick | Display: 12.9-inch Retina, 2732 × 2048, 264 ppi | Refresh rate: 120Hz | Processor: Apple A10X with M10 coprocessor | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad 9th Generation (2021), 10.2-inch, Wi-Fi, 64GB, Space Gray (Renewed) | ![]() | Best Entry-Level Renewed iPad | Display: 10.2-inch Retina LED, 2160 × 1620 | Processor: Apple A13 Bionic | Storage: 64GB | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Frunsi RubensTab T11 Pro Standalone Drawing Tablet | ![]() | Best Standalone Drawing Tablet Alternative | Display: 10.1-inch Full HD IPS, 1920 × 1200 | Pen: Battery-free pressure-sensitive digital pen | Battery capacity: 5,800 mAh | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (3rd Generation, 2018), Wi-Fi, 256GB, Space Gray (Renewed) | ![]() | Best Renewed Large-Screen Pro | Display: 12.9-inch Liquid Retina with ProMotion and True Tone | Resolution: 2732 × 2048 | Processor: Apple A12X Bionic with Neural Engine | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad 11-inch (A16 chip, 128GB, Wi‑Fi 6, 12MP Front/Back Camera, Touch ID, All‑Day Battery) – Silver with Apple Pencil (USB‑C) | ![]() | Best Ready-to-Draw Everyday iPad | Display: 11-inch Liquid Retina with True Tone | Processor: Apple A16 | Storage: 128GB | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad Pro 10.5in – 512GB Wifi – 2017 Model – ROSE GOLD (Renewed) | ![]() | Best for Legacy Pencil Drawing | Display: 10.5-inch Retina, 2224 × 1668, wide color, True Tone | Processor: Apple A10X Fusion with M10 coprocessor | Storage: 512GB | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4), 128GB, Wi-Fi 7, Space Gray | ![]() | Best for Power and Portability | Display: 11-inch Liquid Retina with P3 wide color, True Tone, and ultralow reflectivity | Processor: Apple M4 | Storage: 128GB | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad 11-inch with A16 Chip, 128GB, Wi-Fi 6, and Liquid Retina Display — Blue | ![]() | Best for Budget-Conscious Beginners | Display: 11-inch Liquid Retina with True Tone | Processor: Apple A16 | Storage: 128GB | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad Pro 11-inch (2024, 7th Generation), Wi-Fi + Cellular, 256GB, Space Black (Renewed) | ![]() | Best Premium Compact Drawing iPad | Display: 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR OLED, 2420 × 1668, 264 ppi | Processor: Apple M4 with 9-core CPU | Graphics: 10-core GPU | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (5th Generation, 2021), 256GB, Wi-Fi, Space Gray (Renewed Premium) | ![]() | Best for a Large Drawing Canvas | Display: 12.9-inch Liquid Retina XDR, 2732 × 2048 | Processor: Apple M1 | Storage: 256GB | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| iPads for drawing | Display | Storage | Processor | Connectivity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch | 12.9-inch LED-backlit Retina Multi-Touch | 64GB | Apple A10X Fusion six-core with embedded M10 coprocessor | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.2 |
| Apple iPad 11-inch | 11-inch Liquid Retina with True Tone | 128GB; maximum storage option listed as 512GB | A16 chip | Wi-Fi 6, USB-C |
| Apple iPad Pro 10.5-inch | 10.5-inch LED-backlit Multi-Touch Retina | 256GB | Apple A10X Fusion, 64-bit, with embedded M10 coprocessor | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, GPS, NFC |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch | 12.9-inch Retina, 2732 × 2048, 264 ppi, 120Hz, True Tone | 512GB | Apple A10X, 2.39 GHz | — |
| PicassoTab A10 10-Inch Standal | 10-inch laminated LCD | 64GB, expandable up to 1TB | — | Wi-Fi |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch | 12.9-inch Retina, 2732 × 2048, 264 ppi | 64GB | Apple A10X with M10 coprocessor | Wi-Fi 802.11ac and Bluetooth |
| Apple iPad 9th Generation | 10.2-inch Retina LED, 2160 × 1620 | 64GB | Apple A13 Bionic | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth |
| Frunsi RubensTab T11 Pro Stand | 10.1-inch Full HD IPS, 1920 × 1200 | — | — | Wi-Fi |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch | 12.9-inch Liquid Retina with ProMotion and True Tone | 256GB | Apple A12X Bionic with Neural Engine | — |
| Apple iPad 11-inch | 11-inch Liquid Retina with True Tone | 128GB | Apple A16 | Wi-Fi 6 and USB-C |
| Apple iPad Pro 10.5in | 10.5-inch Retina, 2224 × 1668, wide color, True Tone | 512GB | Apple A10X Fusion with M10 coprocessor | Wi-Fi |
| Apple iPad Air 11-inch | 11-inch Liquid Retina with P3 wide color, True Tone, and ultralow reflectivity | 128GB | Apple M4 | Wi-Fi 7 with Apple N1 |
| Apple iPad 11-inch with A16 Ch | 11-inch Liquid Retina with True Tone | 128GB | Apple A16 | Wi-Fi 6 |
| Apple iPad Pro 11-inch | 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR OLED, 2420 × 1668, 264 ppi | 256GB | Apple M4 with 9-core CPU | Wi-Fi 6E, 5G cellular, Bluetooth 5.3 |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch | 12.9-inch Liquid Retina XDR, 2732 × 2048 | 256GB | Apple M1 | Wi-Fi, Bluetooth |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2nd Generation, 2017), 64GB, Wi-Fi, Gold (Renewed)
The 12.9-inch Retina display gives sketches and interface panels more room than the 10.5-inch iPad Pro, making this the better fit for artists who prefer a broad canvas. Its A10X Fusion chip is an older generation, so I’d choose the newer A16 iPad for a more current general-purpose tablet; this Pro’s appeal is its large screen and drawing-focused workspace, not newer hardware. The 64GB storage is a real limit if you keep many layered projects or reference files on-device. This renewed model is also pre-owned, with packaging and accessories that may be generic. I’d pick it over the 10.5-inch Pro when canvas area matters more than portability, but skip it if you want substantial storage or a newer platform.
Pros:- 12.9-inch, 2732 × 2048 Retina display provides more room for artwork than the 10.5-inch iPad Pro
- A10X Fusion six-core processor supports drawing and general creative tasks
- Four-speaker audio is useful for media and reference playback
- Renewed unit includes a minimum 90-day supplier-backed warranty
Cons:- 64GB storage can fill quickly with layered artwork and downloaded references
- 2017 hardware is older than the A16 iPad in this roundup
- Renewed condition means the device is pre-owned or refurbished, and accessories may be generic
Best for: Artists who want a large drawing surface for sketching and illustration and are comfortable managing a small local project library
Not ideal for: Artists who need generous space for layered files, a compact tablet for commuting, or newer hardware than a 2017 model
- Display:12.9-inch LED-backlit Retina Multi-Touch
- Resolution:2732 × 2048 pixels, 264 ppi
- Processor:Apple A10X Fusion six-core with embedded M10 coprocessor
- Storage:64GB
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 4.2
- Battery life:Up to 10 hours
- Weight:1.5 lbs
- Condition and warranty:Renewed; minimum 90-day supplier-backed warranty
Our verdict“Choose this renewed Pro if a large canvas matters more than storage headroom, portability, or newer hardware.”
Apple iPad 11-inch (A16 chip, 128GB, Wi‑Fi 6, 12MP Front/Back Camera, Touch ID, All‑Day Battery) – Blue with Apple Pencil (USB‑C)
For someone buying an iPad and a compatible pen together, this A16 iPad with Apple Pencil (USB-C) is the easiest entry in this group to assemble into a drawing setup. The 11-inch Liquid Retina display is smaller than the 12.9-inch renewed iPad Pro models, but it makes the tablet easier to carry and still gives most beginners a workable canvas. True Tone adjusts the display to ambient lighting, while the A16 chip offers a newer hardware base than the 2017 Pros. The tradeoff is that the included USB-C Pencil does not make this a Pro model, and the listing provides no cellular option. Its 128GB storage also leaves less room than the 512GB 12.9-inch Pro for a large archive of projects. I’d favor it for a current, bundled setup, not maximum canvas space.
Pros:- A16 chip provides a newer processor platform than the 2017 iPad Pro models
- USB-C Apple Pencil is included and magnetically attaches and charges
- 11-inch Liquid Retina display with True Tone suits a portable drawing setup
- 128GB storage exceeds the 64GB capacity of the 12.9-inch 64GB renewed Pro
Cons:- 11-inch display offers less workspace than either 12.9-inch iPad Pro
- 128GB is not expandable and may constrain large project libraries
- Wi-Fi model has no cellular connectivity option
Best for: New digital artists who want an 11-inch iPad and USB-C Apple Pencil together for sketching, notes, and creative apps
Not ideal for: Artists who want a 12.9-inch canvas, cellular connectivity, or the larger local project capacity of the 512GB iPad Pro
- Display:11-inch Liquid Retina with True Tone
- Processor:A16 chip
- Storage:128GB; maximum storage option listed as 512GB
- Included Pencil:Apple Pencil (USB-C), magnetic attachment and charging
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 6, USB-C
- Touch ID:Yes
- Cameras:12MP front and 12MP back
- Battery life:All-day
Our verdict“Pick this bundle if you want a current, portable iPad drawing setup with a Pencil included rather than a larger Pro display.”
Apple iPad Pro 10.5-inch (2017), 256GB, Wi-Fi, Space Gray (Renewed)
The 10.5-inch iPad Pro is the more manageable renewed Pro for artists who want room to draw without carrying a 12.9-inch tablet. Its 256GB capacity is a major practical advantage over the 64GB 12.9-inch renewed Pro: there’s more space for working files and references, while the smaller body weighs 1 pound. The A10X Fusion processor is from 2017, however, and the supplied listing specifies iOS 11, so buyers should be prepared for an older software environment. Compared with the A16 iPad, this model’s case is its Pro-era hardware and storage, not a newer chip or included Pencil. It is renewed and professionally inspected, but pre-owned condition remains part of the purchase. I’d favor it for portability and capacity, not for the most current platform.
Pros:- 10.5-inch Retina display offers a more portable drawing surface than the 12.9-inch Pros
- 256GB storage provides substantially more project space than the 64GB renewed Pro
- 4GB RAM and A10X Fusion processor are specified for this model
- Listed weight of 1 pound suits artists who carry their tablet regularly
Cons:- The listed iOS 11 operating system is old
- A10X Fusion is older hardware than the A16 iPad
- Renewed condition means the tablet is pre-owned or refurbished
Best for: Artists seeking a lighter renewed iPad Pro with more room for projects than a 64GB model
Not ideal for: Buyers who want newer hardware and software, a bundled Apple Pencil, or the broad canvas of a 12.9-inch model
- Display:10.5-inch LED-backlit Multi-Touch Retina
- Resolution:2224 × 1668 pixels at 264 ppi
- Processor:Apple A10X Fusion, 64-bit, with embedded M10 coprocessor
- Memory:4GB RAM
- Storage:256GB
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, GPS, NFC
- Operating system:iOS 11
- Weight:1 pound
Our verdict“Choose this model if portability and 256GB storage matter more to you than a newer system or a larger canvas.”
Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2017), 512GB, Wi‑Fi, Space Gray
Among the older iPads here, this 12.9-inch Pro with 512GB makes the clearest case for artists who keep substantial work on their tablet. The large Retina display gives sketches room to breathe, and its stated 120Hz refresh rate is a drawing-oriented advantage over the 10.5-inch renewed Pro, while True Tone adjusts the screen to surrounding light. Storage is the standout difference: 512GB gives far more headroom than the 64GB 12.9-inch renewed model. The tradeoffs are age and condition. This is a 2017 renewed device with iOS 10 listed, and its A10X chip is older than the A16 in the bundled 11-inch iPad. USB-C fast-charge support requires an optional accessory. I’d choose it for canvas and capacity, but not if newer hardware or a clearly current software setup ranks higher.
Pros:- 12.9-inch Retina display with 120Hz refresh and True Tone
- 512GB storage gives much more room than the 64GB 12.9-inch renewed Pro
- 4GB RAM and A10X processor are specified
- Stated battery life is up to 10 hours
Cons:- Renewed 2017 hardware is older than the A16 iPad in this roundup
- iOS 10 is listed as the operating system
- USB-C fast-charge accessory is optional and not included
Best for: Digital artists who want a 12.9-inch drawing area and extensive local storage for projects and reference material
Not ideal for: Buyers who prioritize newer hardware, a bundled drawing Pencil, or a compact tablet for travel
- Display:12.9-inch Retina, 2732 × 2048, 264 ppi, 120Hz, True Tone
- Processor:Apple A10X, 2.39 GHz
- Memory:4GB RAM
- Storage:512GB
- Wireless:802.11ac Wi-Fi
- Cameras:12MP rear, 7MP front
- Battery life:Up to 10 hours
- Condition and warranty:Renewed; minimum 90-day supplier-backed warranty
Our verdict“Pick this renewed Pro for its combination of a large drawing canvas and 512GB storage, provided you accept its age and accessory limits.”
PicassoTab A10 10-Inch Standalone Drawing Tablet
The PicassoTab A10 differs from the iPads here in one practical way: it is a standalone Android drawing tablet, so a beginner can use its included pen and creative tools without buying into Apple’s tablet and Pencil ecosystem. Its laminated 10-inch display reduces the gap between pen tip and image, while 4096 pressure levels support varied strokes. The included tutorials, case, glove, and screen protector make this a more guided starter kit than the A16 iPad bundle, though the iPad offers a newer Apple chip and a different app environment. At 1.5 kg, the A10 is much heavier than the one-pound 10.5-inch iPad Pro, limiting its appeal as a daily carry. Its Android update outlook is also unspecified. I’d consider it for learning and self-contained sketching, not for a lightweight setup or buyers committed to iPad apps.
Pros:- Standalone Android tablet runs drawing apps without requiring a computer
- Laminated 10-inch display reduces parallax between pen tip and image
- 4096 pressure levels support expressive pen strokes
- Includes tutorials, case, glove, power adapter, screen protector, and digital pen
Cons:- At 1.5 kg, it is heavier than the one-pound 10.5-inch iPad Pro
- Software update support date is unknown
- Android app environment differs from the iPad drawing setup offered by the A16 iPad
Best for: Beginners who want an all-in-one Android drawing tablet with a pressure-sensitive pen, tutorials, and starter accessories
Not ideal for: Artists who need a lightweight tablet, rely on iPad-only apps, or want a clearly stated long-term software update schedule
- Display:10-inch laminated LCD
- Resolution:2000 × 1200
- Operating system:Android 14
- Processor and memory:Octa-core processor, 6GB RAM
- Storage:64GB, expandable up to 1TB
- Pen pressure sensitivity:4096 levels
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Included accessories:Tablet case, drawing glove, universal power adapter, pre-installed screen protector, USB cable, digital pen
- Weight and warranty:1.5 kg; 1-year warranty
Our verdict“Choose the PicassoTab A10 if you want a guided, self-contained drawing starter kit and can accept its weight and uncertain update support.”
Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2017), 64GB, Wi-Fi, Space Gray (Renewed)
The 12.9-inch 120Hz display gives this older Pro room for broad strokes, reference images, and a less cramped canvas than the iPad 9th Generation. Its high resolution and ProMotion refresh rate make pen movement appear smoother, while True Tone adjusts the screen’s color temperature to the room. The A10X chip is an older platform, though, so I’d choose it for sketching and established drawing workflows rather than demanding new creative tasks. Its 64GB storage limit also leaves less space for large app libraries and layered projects than the 256GB iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2018). This is a renewed device, so its individual condition and battery wear deserve attention. I’d rank it below the 2018 Pro for storage and processing headroom, but it remains a large-format option for buyers who value screen area over newer hardware.
Pros:- 12.9-inch display provides generous room for drawing and reference material.
- 120Hz ProMotion supports smoother-feeling pen movement.
- High-resolution screen includes True Tone.
- Stated battery life is up to 12 hours.
Cons:- 64GB may constrain large apps, reference files, and saved artwork.
- A10X is an older processor than the A12X in the 2018 iPad Pro.
- Renewed condition means individual wear and battery health may vary.
Best for: Sketchers who want a spacious 12.9-inch canvas for home use and can work within 64GB of storage.
Not ideal for: Digital artists with large libraries, demanding multitasking needs, or a preference for a new device with known battery condition.
- Display:12.9-inch Retina, 2732 × 2048, 264 ppi
- Refresh rate:120Hz
- Processor:Apple A10X with M10 coprocessor
- Storage:64GB
- Memory:4GB RAM
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 802.11ac and Bluetooth
- Battery life:Up to 12 hours
- Condition:Renewed; professionally inspected and tested
Our verdict“Choose this renewed Pro if a large, high-refresh-rate canvas matters more than current hardware, ample storage, or new-device condition.”
Apple iPad 9th Generation (2021), 10.2-inch, Wi-Fi, 64GB, Space Gray (Renewed)
For a buyer who wants an iPad for drawing without the large footprint of a Pro, this renewed 10.2-inch iPad offers a straightforward starting point. Its A13 Bionic chip is newer than the A10X in the iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2017), but the Pro has the more drawing-focused 120Hz display and much more canvas space. That makes this iPad better suited to casual sketching, lessons, and smaller projects than to artists who depend on a spacious screen or smoother high-refresh-rate input. The 64GB capacity can fill quickly once apps and artwork accumulate, and this Wi-Fi-only model has no cellular connection for working away from networks. Since it is renewed, its appeal is the accessible form factor and capable everyday chip, not premium drawing hardware or a guaranteed like-new condition.
Pros:- A13 Bionic chip offers capable performance for everyday drawing and general use.
- 10.2-inch Retina display is easier to carry than the 12.9-inch Pro models.
- Includes a charger and adapter.
- Front and rear cameras support video calls and reference capture.
Cons:- 64GB storage can become restrictive as apps and artwork grow.
- Smaller display gives less working space than either 12.9-inch iPad Pro.
- Renewed condition and 90-day warranty offer less certainty than a new device.
Best for: Beginning artists and students who want a compact, general-purpose iPad for learning to draw and making smaller projects.
Not ideal for: Artists who need a large canvas, a 120Hz display, cellular connectivity, or storage for extensive app and artwork libraries.
- Display:10.2-inch Retina LED, 2160 × 1620
- Processor:Apple A13 Bionic
- Storage:64GB
- Memory:3GB RAM
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Port:Lightning
- Battery life:Up to 10 hours
- Condition and warranty:Renewed; 90-day warranty
Our verdict“Pick this renewed iPad for learning and casual drawing in a smaller format, but choose a Pro if screen space and high-refresh-rate drawing matter more.”
Frunsi RubensTab T11 Pro Standalone Drawing Tablet
The RubensTab T11 Pro has a different appeal from the Apple picks: it is a standalone drawing tablet with a pressure-sensitive, battery-free pen and drawing apps already installed. That makes it a ready-to-start option for someone who does not want to build a setup around an iPad. Its 10.1-inch Full HD screen is close in size to the iPad 9th Generation, but the supplied details do not establish the same app ecosystem or drawing performance as an iPad, so I would not treat the two as interchangeable for a particular workflow. The adjustable stand case and included accessories help with desk and travel use; the main limitation is its up to five-hour battery rating, shorter than the iPads listed here. I’d pick it for an all-in-one starter setup, not for artists whose priority is extended unplugged sessions.
Pros:- Standalone design does not require a separate computer.
- Includes a battery-free pressure-sensitive pen and pre-installed drawing apps.
- Adjustable stand case and accessories support desk use and travel.
- USB-C charging.
Cons:- Battery life is rated for up to five hours, shorter than the listed iPads.
- 10.1-inch, 1920 × 1200 display offers less canvas and resolution than the 12.9-inch iPad Pros.
- The supplied product information does not specify processor or memory, making performance headroom harder to judge.
Best for: New or casual artists who want a self-contained drawing tablet, included pen, starter apps, and a stand case in one package.
Not ideal for: Artists who need longer battery life, depend on specific iPad drawing apps, or want a larger, higher-resolution canvas.
- Display:10.1-inch Full HD IPS, 1920 × 1200
- Pen:Battery-free pressure-sensitive digital pen
- Battery capacity:5,800 mAh
- Battery life:Up to 5 hours
- Charging:USB-C
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Included accessories:Digital pen, stylus, gloves, cleaning cloth, adjustable stand case
- Warranty:12 months
Our verdict“Choose the RubensTab for a self-contained starter drawing setup, but favor an iPad if you need its app ecosystem or longer stated battery life.”
Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (3rd Generation, 2018), Wi-Fi, 256GB, Space Gray (Renewed)
This 2018 Pro is the strongest fit here for artists who want a large 12.9-inch canvas without settling for the older 2017 model. Its Liquid Retina display combines ProMotion and True Tone, while the A12X chip is a step up from the A10X in the iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2017). The meaningful drawing advantage over that earlier Pro is not just speed: 256GB storage gives layered projects and creative apps substantially more room than the 2017 model’s 64GB. USB-C, Face ID, and four-speaker audio round out the device, though none removes the uncertainty of buying renewed. The listing does not specify the individual unit’s battery health or exact condition, and its 90-day warranty is limited. I’d rank it above the 2017 Pro for headroom and capacity, while the newer A16 iPad remains a better match for buyers prioritizing a newer platform over a 12.9-inch Pro display.
Pros:- 12.9-inch Liquid Retina display combines ProMotion and True Tone.
- A12X chip provides more processing headroom than the 2017 iPad Pro’s A10X.
- 256GB storage offers more room than the 64GB older Pro models.
- USB-C, Face ID, and four-speaker stereo audio.
Cons:- Renewed condition means individual wear and battery health are not specified.
- The included warranty is limited to 90 days.
- Large 12.9-inch size is less portable than the 10.2- and 11-inch options.
Best for: Digital artists who want a large ProMotion canvas and room for substantial app and artwork libraries in a renewed iPad.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a new device, known battery health, or a newer processor platform rather than a large Pro display.
- Display:12.9-inch Liquid Retina with ProMotion and True Tone
- Resolution:2732 × 2048
- Processor:Apple A12X Bionic with Neural Engine
- Storage:256GB
- Connectivity and port:Wi-Fi and USB-C
- Biometric security:Face ID
- Battery life:Up to 10 hours
- Condition and warranty:Renewed; 90-day limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this renewed 2018 Pro if you want a roomy, high-refresh-rate drawing canvas and more storage than the 2017 Pro provides.”
Apple iPad 11-inch (A16 chip, 128GB, Wi‑Fi 6, 12MP Front/Back Camera, Touch ID, All‑Day Battery) – Silver with Apple Pencil (USB‑C)
This 11-inch iPad earns its place as the most straightforward current-style drawing package here: it pairs the A16 chip and 128GB storage with an included Apple Pencil (USB-C). That bundle means a buyer can start drawing without sourcing a separate pencil, and the A16 is a newer platform than the A12X in the renewed iPad Pro 12.9-inch (2018). The tradeoff is the canvas: its 11-inch Liquid Retina screen is more portable, but it does not match the 12.9-inch Pro’s drawing area or listed ProMotion feature. The product details also do not specify a display refresh rate or pencil pressure features, so I would avoid assuming Pro-level drawing capabilities from the inclusion of a Pencil alone. For artists who value a newer chip, 128GB, and an included stylus over a larger Pro screen, this is the balanced pick.
Pros:- A16 chip provides a newer processor platform than the renewed iPad Pros listed here.
- Included Apple Pencil (USB-C) makes the package ready for drawing.
- 128GB storage exceeds the 64GB capacity of the older renewed iPads.
- 11-inch Liquid Retina display with True Tone in a more portable format than the 12.9-inch models.
Cons:- Smaller drawing area than the 12.9-inch iPad Pro models.
- Wi-Fi-only connectivity; no cellular option is listed.
- Product details do not specify display refresh rate or pencil pressure features.
Best for: Artists who want a newer everyday iPad, an included Apple Pencil, and enough storage for a moderate drawing library in a portable size.
Not ideal for: Artists who need a 12.9-inch canvas, ProMotion, cellular connectivity, or confirmed details about display refresh rate and pencil pressure support.
- Display:11-inch Liquid Retina with True Tone
- Processor:Apple A16
- Storage:128GB
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 6 and USB-C
- Apple Pencil:USB-C Apple Pencil included
- Cameras:12MP front and 12MP back
- Biometric security:Touch ID
- Battery life:All-day battery
Our verdict“Choose this iPad if you want an included Apple Pencil, a newer A16 platform, and a portable drawing setup rather than a 12.9-inch Pro canvas.”
Apple iPad Pro 10.5in – 512GB Wifi – 2017 Model – ROSE GOLD (Renewed)
The 10.5-inch Retina display and its wide-color support make this older Pro a more drawing-focused choice than the standard 11-inch A16 iPad, particularly for artists who want a compact canvas and ample room for saved projects. Its A10X Fusion chip is much older than the M-series processors in the newer iPad Air and Pro models, so I’d reserve it for sketching, illustration, and less demanding workflows rather than heavy multitasking or large, complex files. The 512GB capacity is unusually generous for this generation, but the listing does not identify supported Pencil models, so buyers should verify compatibility before choosing an art app and stylus. As a renewed device, its condition and remaining software support are additional uncertainties. It makes sense only if its older hardware and refurbished status fit the buyer’s expectations.
Pros:- 10.5-inch Retina display with wide color
- 512GB storage for apps and artwork
- Four-speaker audio and stated battery life of up to 10 hours
- Compact size is easier to carry than the 12.9-inch iPad Pro
Cons:- A10X chip is substantially older than the M4 iPad Air and M4 iPad Pro
- The product details do not specify Apple Pencil compatibility
- Renewed condition and future software support are uncertain
Best for: Artists seeking a compact, high-capacity refurbished iPad for sketching and illustration who have confirmed compatible Apple Pencil support.
Not ideal for: Artists who need current-generation performance, a clearly documented Pencil setup, or a large workspace for detailed compositions.
- Display:10.5-inch Retina, 2224 × 1668, wide color, True Tone
- Processor:Apple A10X Fusion with M10 coprocessor
- Storage:512GB
- Memory:4GB RAM
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Battery life:Up to 10 hours
- Color:Rose Gold
- Condition:Renewed
Our verdict“Choose this renewed iPad for compact sketching and abundant storage only after confirming stylus compatibility and accepting its dated hardware.”
Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M4), 128GB, Wi-Fi 7, Space Gray
This M4 iPad Air is a strong fit for artists who want current, fast hardware in a lighter 11-inch form without moving up to the Pro line. Its P3 wide-color Liquid Retina display, True Tone, and ultralow reflectivity make it suited to everyday drawing and viewing artwork in varied lighting; the listing, however, does not claim the Pro’s OLED display or other Pro-tier screen features. Compared with the 11-inch A16 iPad, the Air offers a more capable chip for heavier creative workloads, while keeping a similar portable canvas size. The 128GB configuration may fill quickly if projects, reference images, and apps accumulate, and the Apple Pencil is a separate purchase. I’d pick it over the renewed M4 Pro for a buyer who prioritizes a new-generation Air design and all-around speed over the Pro’s premium display and connectivity.
Pros:- M4 chip supports demanding creative apps and multitasking
- P3 wide color, True Tone, and ultralow reflectivity on the display
- 11-inch size balances drawing space and portability
- Supports Apple Pencil accessories
Cons:- 128GB storage can constrain large art libraries and project files
- Apple Pencil is not included
- Lacks the stated OLED display of the renewed 11-inch iPad Pro
Best for: Digital artists who want a portable 11-inch canvas, M4 performance, and wide-color support for regular illustration and multitasking.
Not ideal for: Artists who need a larger drawing surface, Pro-level display features, or substantial built-in space for a large offline portfolio.
- Display:11-inch Liquid Retina with P3 wide color, True Tone, and ultralow reflectivity
- Processor:Apple M4
- Storage:128GB
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 7 with Apple N1
- Authentication:Touch ID
- Weight:1.02 pounds
- Battery life:All-day
- Model number:MH304LL/A
Our verdict“Choose the M4 Air for portable, demanding drawing work when you value current performance more than the Pro’s higher-end screen.”
Apple iPad 11-inch with A16 Chip, 128GB, Wi-Fi 6, and Liquid Retina Display — Blue
For someone starting digital art, this 11-inch A16 iPad offers a straightforward drawing setup: a Liquid Retina display with True Tone, Touch ID, and support for compatible Apple Pencil accessories. Its A16 chip is suitable for common creative tasks, though the M4-powered iPad Air and iPad Pro offer more headroom for complex projects and demanding multitasking. The 11-inch screen is a useful middle ground for sketchbooks and illustrations, but artists who routinely work on fine details may prefer the expansive 12.9-inch canvas of the 2021 iPad Pro. This model’s 128GB storage gives a beginner room to start, yet a large library of layered files can outgrow it. Since a Pencil is not listed as included, budget for a compatible stylus separately.
Pros:- A16 chip handles common drawing and creative tasks
- 11-inch Liquid Retina display includes True Tone
- Touch ID is built into the top button
- Supports compatible Apple Pencil accessories
Cons:- 128GB may be limiting for extensive artwork libraries
- Apple Pencil is not indicated as included
- Less performance headroom than the M4 iPad Air and iPad Pro
Best for: New digital artists who want an accessible 11-inch iPad for learning illustration, sketching, and using compatible Pencil accessories.
Not ideal for: Professional artists working with large layered files or buyers who want a Pencil bundled with the tablet.
- Display:11-inch Liquid Retina with True Tone
- Processor:Apple A16
- Storage:128GB
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 6
- Front camera:12MP Center Stage
- Authentication:Touch ID
- Weight:1.05 pounds
- Color:Blue
Our verdict“This is a practical starter iPad for sketching and learning, provided you account for a separate Pencil and modest storage.”
Apple iPad Pro 11-inch (2024, 7th Generation), Wi-Fi + Cellular, 256GB, Space Black (Renewed)
For artists who want an 11-inch tablet without compromising on display or processing power, this renewed iPad Pro pairs an M4 chip with an Ultra Retina XDR OLED screen. The compact size is easier to carry than the 12.9-inch 2021 Pro, while its listed Apple Pencil Pro support, 8GB of RAM, and Thunderbolt-capable USB-C port suit demanding illustration workflows. It also adds Wi-Fi 6E and 5G cellular, useful for working away from a desk or syncing reference material on the go. The tradeoff is the renewed purchase: the supplied warranty is only 90 days, and the listing does not include an Apple Pencil. Compared with the M4 iPad Air, this Pro is the pick for buyers who prioritize the OLED display and Pro connectivity, not those seeking a lower-complexity or longer-warrantied option.
Pros:- 11-inch Ultra Retina XDR OLED display
- M4 chip, 10-core GPU, and 8GB RAM
- Supports Apple Pencil Pro
- 5G cellular and Thunderbolt-capable USB-C add flexibility for mobile workflows
Cons:- Renewed condition may vary from a new device
- Includes only a 90-day limited warranty
- Apple Pencil Pro is not listed as included
Best for: Professional and serious hobbyist artists who want an 11-inch OLED canvas, Pencil Pro support, and cellular connectivity in a portable tablet.
Not ideal for: Buyers who prefer a new device, want a longer warranty, or need the larger drawing area of the 12.9-inch iPad Pro.
- Display:11-inch Ultra Retina XDR OLED, 2420 × 1668, 264 ppi
- Processor:Apple M4 with 9-core CPU
- Graphics:10-core GPU
- Storage:256GB
- Memory:8GB RAM
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 6E, 5G cellular, Bluetooth 5.3
- Port:USB-C with Thunderbolt support, up to 40Gb/s
- Warranty:90-day limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this renewed Pro for premium drawing features in a compact size if OLED and cellular matter more than a longer warranty.”
Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch (5th Generation, 2021), 256GB, Wi-Fi, Space Gray (Renewed Premium)
The 12.9-inch Liquid Retina XDR display is the main reason to choose this renewed Pro: the larger workspace gives artists more room for detailed compositions, palettes, and reference material than the 11-inch M4 Pro or M4 Air. Its M1 chip, ProMotion, True Tone, and P3 wide color make it a capable drawing tablet, and it supports the second-generation Apple Pencil. Compared with the newer 11-inch M4 Pro, this model is older and less portable, but its screen is substantially larger for working directly on the canvas. The listing describes it as renewed premium and includes a one-year warranty; buyers should still account for refurbished condition and confirm the Pencil is purchased separately. At 1.5 pounds, it is better suited to a desk or lap than frequent one-handed sketching on the move.
Pros:- 12.9-inch Liquid Retina XDR display provides a broad drawing workspace
- ProMotion, True Tone, and P3 wide color
- M1 chip and 8GB RAM support demanding creative work
- Supports second-generation Apple Pencil
Cons:- At 1.5 pounds, it is less portable than the 11-inch iPad models
- M1 hardware is older than the M4 in the newer iPad Air and Pro
- Apple Pencil is not listed as included
Best for: Illustrators who prioritize a spacious screen for detailed artwork, on-canvas palettes, and reference material over compact portability.
Not ideal for: Commuters and artists who prefer a lightweight tablet, or buyers who want the newest M-series iPad Pro hardware.
- Display:12.9-inch Liquid Retina XDR, 2732 × 2048
- Processor:Apple M1
- Storage:256GB
- Memory:8GB RAM
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
- Apple Pencil support:Apple Pencil (2nd generation)
- Weight:1.5 pounds
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick this renewed Pro when a large, color-rich canvas matters more than the latest chip or easy portability.”

How We Picked
I ranked these 15 options around the needs that most affect drawing: Apple Pencil compatibility, usable screen space, performance headroom, storage, and the condition risks tied to older or renewed devices. A tablet can have a large display but still be a poor fit if the stylus is incompatible, the storage is cramped for layered projects, or its age makes it a less dependable long-term tool. I also separated conventional iPads from standalone drawing tablets, since they serve different workflows.
The ranking favors models that offer a more balanced drawing setup and a clearer path for continued creative work. Newer hardware and room to work matter more than a high storage figure alone, while older Pros remain relevant when their larger displays or capacity match a buyer’s priorities. The standard A16 iPad variants are grouped as closely related choices, and color differences do not change their drawing role. Renewed listings require extra scrutiny because condition, battery health, and included accessories can vary.
| iPads for drawing | Battery life |
|---|---|
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch | Up to 10 hours |
| Apple iPad 11-inch | All-day |
| Apple iPad Pro 10.5-inch | — |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch | Up to 10 hours |
| PicassoTab A10 10-Inch Standal | — |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch | Up to 12 hours |
| Apple iPad 9th Generation | Up to 10 hours |
| Frunsi RubensTab T11 Pro Stand | Up to 5 hours |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch | Up to 10 hours |
| Apple iPad 11-inch | All-day battery |
| Apple iPad Pro 10.5in | Up to 10 hours |
| Apple iPad Air 11-inch | All-day |
| Apple iPad 11-inch with A16 Ch | — |
| Apple iPad Pro 11-inch | — |
| Apple iPad Pro 12.9-inch | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best IPads For Drawing
Choosing a drawing tablet is less about picking the newest or largest model and more about avoiding a mismatch between your tools and your workflow. These factors help separate a workable sketching setup from one that will feel restrictive once projects grow.
Check Pencil Compatibility Before Choosing an iPad
Apple Pencil support is not interchangeable across every iPad generation, so confirm the exact stylus compatibility for the specific model before buying. A bundle that includes Apple Pencil (USB-C), as with the A16 iPad listings here, can make setup more straightforward, but it does not mean that every Pencil feature is available. Older Pro models may support a different Pencil generation, which can affect charging and pairing. Don’t assume that a newer stylus works with an older tablet just because both are made by Apple. If you already own a Pencil, start with its model number and check the iPad’s official compatibility list. This small check can prevent buying a tablet that forces you to replace a stylus you planned to keep.
Choose Screen Size Around Your Drawing Habits
A larger display gives detailed illustrations and tool panels more breathing room, but it also makes a tablet less convenient to carry and hold. Compact models can be easier to use on commutes or in a classroom, though a smaller canvas may require more zooming and panning. Think about where you draw most often: a desk setup can make a 12.9-inch Pro more comfortable, while frequent travel can favor an 11-inch model. Also account for the case or stand you plan to use, since those add bulk. A common mistake is choosing the biggest screen available without asking whether it will actually leave the house. Match the display to your working posture and typical project size, not just a diagonal measurement.
Plan Storage for Layers, References, and Apps
Storage needs grow with high-resolution canvases, layered files, downloaded brushes, and reference images. A 64GB tablet may work for occasional sketches, but it can feel restrictive if the iPad also holds games, photos, and offline media. For larger projects, prioritize a capacity that leaves room for both your art apps and working files. Cloud storage can help with archiving, but it does not replace local space when you want to work offline or keep active projects close at hand. Don’t treat a large storage number as proof that an older tablet is the better drawing purchase; age and stylus fit matter too. Consider how many active projects you keep on the device before deciding which capacity is enough.
Weigh Age, Software Support, and Renewed Condition
Several iPad Pro options in this roundup date from 2017 or 2018, so their drawing value depends on more than the original hardware. Older devices can offer substantial screen space, but remaining software support and app compatibility may be less favorable than on newer models. Renewed condition varies, and battery wear can matter during long drawing sessions even if the display and processor meet your needs. Check the seller’s return terms, warranty, battery details, and whether the listing includes the expected accessories. Compare the full ownership picture with a newer A16 or M4 iPad rather than judging by storage or screen size alone. Paying more for a newer device may make sense if you want a longer usable life and fewer age-related uncertainties.
Decide Whether You Need an iPad Ecosystem
The PicassoTab A10 and Frunsi RubensTab T11 Pro are standalone drawing-tablet options, while the iPads also serve as general-purpose computers for apps, communication, and media. A dedicated tablet may suit someone who wants a focused drawing setup, but app selection, file workflows, and stylus behavior can differ from what iPad users expect. If you rely on particular illustration software, confirm that it runs on the device before choosing. Artists who move work between a tablet and a computer should check export formats and file-handling steps, not just the drawing surface. A mistake here is buying based on a bundled accessory without checking whether the software supports the way you create. Choose the platform that fits your art apps and handoff process, not only the screen.
Spend for the Bottleneck You Actually Have
Paying for premium hardware makes the most sense when your current setup has a specific limit: slow handling of complex files, too little canvas space, or an aging device you want to keep for years. If you mainly sketch or learn basic techniques, a newer standard iPad may be a better fit than a high-end Pro you will not fully use. Conversely, an experienced illustrator working with large, layered canvases may benefit more from stronger hardware and a larger display than from extra accessories. Avoid upgrading every part of the setup at once; first identify whether the screen, stylus, storage, or performance is holding you back. This roundup’s range—from the A16 models to the M4 Air and Pro choices—shows that one tier does not suit every artist. Buy for your most frequent work, with enough headroom for the next step.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the 2021 12.9-inch iPad Pro a safer drawing choice than a renewed 2017 Pro?
For many buyers, the 2021 model is the safer long-term choice because it is newer and is less exposed to the age-related uncertainties of a 2017 tablet. The older Pro can still appeal if a large screen is the priority and the listing’s condition is clear. Check software support, battery condition, return terms, and Pencil compatibility before deciding. A high-capacity older model does not automatically make up for a shorter remaining useful life. If you want to keep the iPad for several years, favor the newer device when the added capability fits your needs.
Can I use the Apple Pencil (USB-C) with every iPad in this roundup?
No; Apple Pencil compatibility varies by iPad model and generation. The A16 bundle listings name Apple Pencil (USB-C), but that does not establish compatibility with the older Pro models or every other iPad here. Check Apple’s compatibility information for the exact tablet and Pencil before purchasing. Also verify whether the stylus charges and pairs in the way you prefer, since attachment and charging methods can differ. If you already own a Pencil, confirm its model first rather than buying a tablet based on the assumption that it will work.
Is 64GB enough storage for drawing?
It can be enough for occasional sketches and a small collection of apps, but it leaves less room for layered artwork, reference images, and other personal files. Artists who keep many projects on the iPad or work with large canvases may prefer more capacity. Cloud storage can archive finished work, though active projects still use local space and cloud access may not be available everywhere. Think about whether the tablet will also hold photos, games, and downloaded media. Choose capacity based on your whole device use, not drawing apps alone.
Should a beginner choose an older iPad Pro or a newer standard iPad?
A newer standard iPad can be the more straightforward starting point if you want current hardware and a simple Pencil bundle. An older Pro may offer a larger screen or more storage, but its age, battery condition, and software support need careful checking. Beginners often benefit more from reliable stylus compatibility and a comfortable drawing app than from Pro branding. If you plan to practice away from a desk, compare portability as well as screen size. Pick the option that makes it easiest to draw regularly without taking on condition risks you do not need.
Should I choose a standalone drawing tablet instead of an iPad?
A standalone drawing tablet may suit you if you want a device centered on drawing and its available apps match your needs. An iPad is more versatile for general apps and may fit better if you already use Apple services or want to move between art and everyday tasks. Before buying the PicassoTab A10 or Frunsi RubensTab T11 Pro, confirm the drawing software, stylus details, and file export options you need. Artists who share projects with a desktop workflow should test the compatibility path on paper before committing. The right choice depends on your app and file habits, not simply whether a tablet is labeled for drawing.
Conclusion
For most artists seeking one dependable iPad for sketching and illustration, I recommend the iPad Pro 12.9-inch (5th Generation, 2021) as the best overall. The iPad 11-inch with A16 is my best value-style pick for buyers who want a newer, straightforward drawing setup, while the iPad Air 11-inch (M4) is the best premium step-up among the newer options. Beginners should start with an A16 model and confirm the included Pencil suits their needs. For a large canvas on a tighter budget, consider a renewed older Pro only after checking its condition, battery, and software outlook; for a focused standalone setup, compare the PicassoTab and Frunsi against your app requirements. Choose by stylus fit and daily workflow first, then screen size and storage.


















